Scholarship Program

Scholarship Assistance Fund Dollars for Scholars scholarships are offered to residents of Arlington Heights, Buffalo Grove, Elk Grove Village, Mount Prospect, Prospect Heights, Rolling Meadows, and Wheeling, Illinois and/or students attending or graduated from a high school in District 214. In addition to meeting the residency requirement, all applicants must:

  • Be a current high school senior or have received a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Attend a 2 or 4 year college or university (full time) or vocational, trade or technical school (full or half time) in the 2024-25 school year
  • Have a minimum overall unweighted GPA of 3.0/4.0 for academic scholarships or 2.0/4.0 for Vocational/Trade School scholarships

The following scholarships are available for the 2024-2025 academic year:

Six - $4,000 Academic One-Year Scholarships

One - $4,000 Charles E. Priester Academic One-Year Scholarship 

One - $4,000 Lyn J Kearns Academic One-Year Scholarship to be awarded to a student majoring in education or nursing

One - $4,000 Nicholas J Helmer Academic One-Year Scholarship to be awarded to a student attending a high school in District 214 and residing in Prospect Heights, Illinois

One - $4,000 Peter J Fazio Academic One-Year Scholarship

One - $4,000 Shlomo & Elana Shuster One-Year Scholarship

Two - $4,000 Vocational/Trade School One-Year Scholarships

The application deadline for the 2024-25 awards has been extended to

Friday, April 12, 2024

Applicants are evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Financial Need
  • Academic Achievement
  • Community Service, Extracurricular Activities and Employment
  • Two Written Essays (150 words or less) - Academic Applicants 
  • Career related questions - Vocational Applicants
  • Letters of Recommendation (two required)

Top scoring applicants will be invited for an interview with members of the Board of Directors. Following the interviews, a recipient announcement will be made by April 30, 2024.  Scholarship winners are expected to attend an awards celebration to be held on May 31, 2024.

For more information on submitting an application, visit our Students & Parents page.

How To Apply